The Internship Experience

AND THE VACATION WAS FULL OF LEARNING EXPERIENCE………The semester has ended in glory; woman needs to find what is next in life in the period of vacation. I intended to intern through the advice of Umaru Amadu Sanda, a multimedia journalist with Citi FM/TV and by the grace of God through my spiritual dad, Mr. Yaw Koranteng, my internship letter went through at Media General, Connect FM to be precise.

It all started on the 16th of May 2021 when I arrived in Takoradi. It was a great feeling with my family because I have been away for months hence, I have missed home. If I can recall vividly, a day after the wedding of my best pal, Priscilla, I had a call from the accountant of Connect FM and he went like…..

Your letter has gone through successfully and has been accepted. Kindly, be here on Monday for an aptitude test and let us take it from there

Said Brother Benjamin

These words were a great shock to me because I had tried several times to get there, and it all ended on a hard rock. Another reason I was shocked is that the person who boosted my confidence in Journalism and finally I decided to read Communication Studies and Major in Journalism works in the same media firm. I prepared myself for the test and by God’s grace, I produced the best at the end.

The internship started on Wednesday after writing the test on Monday. I pleaded to start on Wednesday because my time for internship was limited that is almost a month internship. At the firm, we were attachés of seven. And four including myself were tasked to be in the newsroom. I was directed to be in the newsroom because I major in Journalism. We were assigned to work on two stories each day and it seemed difficult to do at the start. But the story changed in the subsequent days. It was indeed a learning experience for me because I met professionals who knew what they were about in the media firm.

Some professionals like Madam Ewurama Smith, Bro. Eric, Wofa Ato, Paa Kojo and Mr. Ateimu. These professionals one way or the other guided and impacted in my life positively and I want to thank them so much for the positive effect during my time there.

Fast forward, I was taught so much, and I loved how I was tutored. I went through the teaching process and polished my skill of editing voices though I have learnt that in my second year in GIJ and how to edit vox pop. By the help of PaaKojo, I was taught how to write TV script and how to write good radio script. I was instructed to produce the presenters for 10am and 12pm news and my job was to place calls and put them on air, communicate to them using a sophisticated app at Studio B if there is any information to relay to the presenters.

During my stay there, I had the opportunity to cover two assignments, one was on the launch of the Population and Housing Census and the other was on the training of field officers for the Population and Housing Census. I was not new to covering outside programs because I have worked with other media houses like Skyy Power FM and worked under Simon Ahensah, a correspondent for Class Media and A TV. I delivered as expected by the editor by submitting my story and editing my voices and interviews for radio production.

So, for the launch of the Population and Housing Census, I was privileged to have a one on one interview with the Municipal Chief Executive for the Effia Kwesimintsim Municipal Assembly (EKMA), Kojo Acquah and the statistical census officer, Gideon Ekow Hayford.  

I funnily remember that for the training I was tasked to give a live report at the training center. Immediately, I was engulfed with tension and my body started aching. I was frightened but they still insisted I should go with the census team and report by giving update on the program in Twi because it is a Twi speaking station. I did not know what to do, there and then, I gathered courage and was positive to deliver but time saved me from reporting on the training because I returned an hour before time.

With stories I covered, I brought to the limelight social issues in my community that is Assakae and beyond Takoradi. I scripted a story on a dusty road in Whindo, which has caught the attention of authorities, a dilapidated bridge at Assakae, the plea of traders at the temporary structure at Ahenfie hotel and many others.

In my short stay at the media firm, I realized that it takes hard work, humility, passion, and determination to be a great and responsible journalist. There are a lot of traits to adapt if you want to get far but I will hit on the four traits mentioned. The reason is that sometimes it feels like not doing it and other time when passion is attached to the work, it feels like doing it. There were times when my colleagues at the workplace would see going out to record Vox pop as a big work. I was always all out for a task given to me. I was named “W) agye bibiara ab) so” that means she has taken everything, and she is doing everything. Other times, I was called course rep because I was involved and heading works given. It should be noted that, you should be sociable and be opened to learn anything at any time. I was ever ready to learn and be determined to do your best. I am now inspirationally built and will not give up on what I have started.

The pen is down, thoughts are empty, and I bring my write-up to an end on the internship experience.

5 thoughts on “The Internship Experience”

  1. “I was named “W) agye bibiara ab) so” that means she has taken everything, and she is doing everything. Other times, I was called course rep because I was involved and heading works given.”

    I am excited for you for using the opportunity given to learn and grow. Keep it up

    Like

Leave a comment